nogbad's blips

By nogbad

And another thing...

Out to Sainsbury's this afternoon and I found myself perusing the orange-based preserves, I do like a bit of rough cut in the morning, when I got to wondering who Frank Cooper might be. 

Given that it's Oxford Marmalade I started by considering whether he was an academic - making fine marmalade would be a fitting pastime for an Oxford Don, I can imagine him in a gown and square, stirring a big bubbling pot. He might have done some terrific research but his main claim to fame was gifting the world this wonderful concoction. 

Actually, he was a shopkeeper, which makes sense but is slightly less romantic, but - and this is the thing that gets me - he didn't make it. It was his wife, Sarah-Jane who perfected the recipe, but he gets his name on the jar. Damn the patriarchy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.