JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

Wild Water,

Although I celebrated my birthday a couple of days ago with friends, today is my actual birthday. The morning was wet, gloomy and very windy, Storm Babet was still with us. Debbie's canvas awning was completely blown over and lay in ruins.  I went to check on my arbour but it hadn't budged. All the bricks and concrete slabs I'd put in the storage seat had done their jobs. Came in and breakfasted. A card from Andy made me laugh but otherwise it was an ordinary morning although I did buy myself a present of a long, bright red fleece robe.  After lunch I thought about going to Dysart. to photograph. Old age seems to make one take up sky diving or be too timid to go out the door if it's raining but off I went.  Driving there was OK and boy was I glad I'd gone. The waves were terrific and gusts of wind nearly blew me away. Chatted to one of the locals who was checking his boat, which was out the water for the winter, wasn't going to be blown over. One of his neighbours who had lived there since a child and was now an old man said he'd never seen it so wild. Took far too many photos before making my way back to my car with difficulty. Drove home feeling exhilarated and much more in birthday mood. Called in at Marks for a few treats and settled down for a nice cosy evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.