The Geeky Christian

By s90man

Staycation Day 4 - The Flowers of Lewes

Yes I cheated! Yesterday was an absolute washout, so I didn't post yesterday so this could be my 1095th blip.

I feel this is much more in keeping with what my journal is all about - detail! Usually flowers, admittedly, but detail is what made me fall in love with photography. Getting close to something and seeing all the colours, shapes, and textures captured in a little frame satisfies me on a very dorky level!

Out of all the photography communities I've found online (including DeviantART, Flickr, and one or two obscure ones) Blipfoto is the only one I've stuck with for three years, and I think that's because of... well, the community mainly! There's something about the style of this place and how it works and the people that come here.

There's not this immense pressure to go out and "like" things and interact with loads of people in order to get a handful of comments on your own photos or even replies to your comments - people on here are generally really nice and responsive, which I haven't found anywhere else. Things tend to be quite mature and never get trolly or snipey. You can actually get some interaction going on here, but at a level that's comfortable for you, and you get a pretty good return for everything you put in. That's why I think I shall be here for years to come!

That all sounds very general, so I'll just say thanks to everyone who comments on my journal, you're a bunch of really nice people who keep me motivated to blip!

(About today - carvery for lunch and to Lewes to see the castle there which was very interesting, despite the extreme wind! There were a bunch of great old buildings in the town, including a 15th century house that had a plaque mentioning the distance to Brighthelmstone - apparently the old name for Brighton, never knew that. The castle itself was pretty good with two intact towers and a gatehouse, and a nice garden in the middle which is where I got this photo. There were lots of school kids on school trips there!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.