Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Not a day of rest ...

I smiled as I wrote that - Sunday isn't a day of rest for us; more the one day of the week when we have a set morning, when we have to be clothed and in our right mind (more or less) and out the door by 10.10am or we'll be late - something that becomes harder with every year past retirement for both of us, I think. The huvtae, of course, is church, no more an unwelcome event than my work actually was when I was teaching - I wouldn't go if it wasn't something I actively wanted to do. Today was especially hopeful in that we had our second baptism in a month, this time of baby Faith, who's been coming to church since before she was born. The church was full of young people to support her parents, and the twelve children who formed part of this congregation were amazingly well-behaved so that we only realised later that they were there. 

Di came for coffee - it's the first time in ages we've been able to do this - and we ended up talking so animatedly about the Middle East that we didn't get our lunch till 2pm. We were, however, determined to get out in the sunshine while it lasted, and we'd resolved to visit Benmore Gardens on this, the last weekend of its open season, when the shop goods were on sale to members (like us) at quite a discount. We made our purchases, stashed them in the car, and headed off to see how the storm had affected our favourite garden. What was amazing was the sudden intensity of colour in trees that had been just on the turn a couple of weeks ago, though there were sadnesses too in coming across huge trees fallen in the winds of Babet. We felt that the sodden ground from the previous week would have contributed to their downfall; the gardeners have already begun work to saw up the most obstructive casualties.

I've chosen - out of a multiplicity of tempting images - this brilliant tree standing among the giant redwoods in the first section of the garden. The bright blue sky persisted for our whole walk, providing a vivid backdrop. Then it was home to a burst of Italian before cooking dinner - I've just checked to find that I've survived in the Diamond League by the skin of my teeth. I don't know why they end the week at 11pm, but there you are ...

I have a sore throat this evening: fingers crossed I've just been talking too much or something. I haven't time to feel poorly. Bed might help ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.