PARSONS POLYGON

I went to the Theatre Royal in Newcastle this afternoon to see Blood Brothers. This was the 3rd time I have seen it and I really enjoyed it..... again. Maureen Nolan played Mrs Johnstone and she was excellent. A standing ovation at the end and the cast took a bow - 5 times.

After the theatre I popped into Waitrose and was walking along Blackett Street to catch my bus home when I realised I hadn't taken a photo to blip.

I pass this statue every time I go to Newcastle but have never blipped it so today was the ideal opportunity. The terracotta tile clad `Parsons Polygon` is primarily a ventilation shaft for the nearby Metro Station and was erected in 1985. The artist David Hamilton used the commission as an opportunity to provide a monument to Sir Charles Parsons (1854-1931) the creator of Turbinia, a steam turbine powered vessel which achieved 35 knots. The designs pressed into the clay are abstracted from Parsons' engineering drawings creating a work which the artist saw, 'not as a statue of the man, but a symbol of his stature amongst engineers and the world at large'. I guess most people pass by this structure without giving it a second thought. I also managed to get some of the lovely old buildings on one side of the street reflected in the glass of the Eldon Square shopping centre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.