curns' corner

By curns

Hot Cross

I got up this morning and went for my 40-minute walk, via Tesco for a couple of bits to add to the salad and quiche for lunch.  Post-pandemic, and as we have starting spending more time out of the house - and away on The Island, the strict routine of the weekly shop has fallen away and we are finding we are doing more and more top-up shops. I’d prefer to go back to the old habits because it was considerably cheaper to plan out shopping. 

When I sat at my desk ready for the day I noticed there was a lot of noise and drilling from the house behind us.  We know that a year ago (or about that) they got planning permission for an extension. Since they got that another house on the street behind us has had an extension on the back and a loft conversion. I had assumed I’d misread the planning notification and got the house wrong.   Now all this noise suggests something is happening directly behind us.  The noise will be a bit distracting but what I am really most bothered by is if  the building work means we will get mice surfing again.  In the last two or three years every time a house in front or behind us has had any kind of work we have seen mice. They don’t stay around very long and when all the work settles they disappear but it’s always annoying. I am preparing myself.

To the gym after work. Dinner was some of yesterday’s chicken leftovers.  We watched Taskmaster instead of another Blue Lights because I think it’d be more relaxing and PY still had a headache from his earlier migraine.  We continue to try to use the Heinz Hot Cross Bun mayo that PY  ‘won’. I toasted some bread and spread the Hot Cross Bob mayo as a topping and it was delicious. It makes the toast taste like host cross buns and because its bread it also had the consistency of a hot cross bun. I think it works much better than spreading it on an actual hot cross bun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.