While on my runs

By waipushrink

A bit hard to swallow

After a long tiring day it was good to find only a couple of appointments, leaving ample time for reports and letters. And when the afternoon review for the Mental Health Act was delayed until tomorrow due to no available interpreter, I was able to tidy things and leave early enough for a good walk at Te Wai Orea ( The water of eels; also known as Western Springs Lake).

The Tui in the extra had just seen off another Tui. Its feathers were subsiding after having blown the bird's size up to nearly double before the presumed rival fled. 

When I got to the edge of the main lake I saw a Pied Shag (Karuhiruhi) ducking its head below the surface and a few seconds later stretching its head high. I was pleased when I got home to find that i was right in thinking it had a catch and was trying to swallow it. I believe that it was successful in swallowing what I think was a medium sized eel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.