Picturemull

By Picturemull

Two Sides

This blip is one of two sides of Cromarty. The village has a quaint side with lovely old houses and buildings plus a pretty coastal walk and then a side with mostly small modern houses built when oil money was flowing. These over look the Firth of Cromarty towards Invergordon, a more industrial seascape of old oil rigs and boats stacked with cranes etc. From a conversation in the pub apparently people originally living in the pretty but cold and difficult to maintain old houses chose to move to the warmer new houses. The old ones got more and more run down and many were eventually bought up by people from outside the village who had money to do the repairs, some to live in but of course a lot for second homes and self catering businesses.

I’m very much appreciating that I can be on holiday. The Wi-Fi is poor and that’s a blessing as it stops me continually checking the news. I’ve not commented before on the terrifying tragedy escalating between Israel and Gaza and the genocide of the Palestinian people. I tried and then deleted my words as sounded so trite or wrong when combined with a pretty picture from a life so cosseted in comparison. But it’s then like I don’t care or am not aware. I very much do and am. Many people have better writing skills and are more informed than I am - this is a long article but worth reading

https://thechaff.substack.com/p/on-incoherence

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.