meayrs

By meayrs

Condors at La Rinconada, Neuquen

I wanted to shoot a condor before I left (with a camera, I hasten to add) and drove over to the observation platform at La Rinconada this evening. Yes, they are condors, believe me, but they are so far away and the photo is so heavily cropped you may just have to take my word for it.

When I arrived in San Martin in May there were two birds I rally wanted to photograph: a humming bird and a condor. I got the humming bird a while back, and as I leave at the weekend this was my last chance for the condor this trip.

I'll hope to do better next time, but they fly so high up and in such remote places either I'll have to invest in ridiculously expensive glass, take up mountaineering or pray for a miracle.

For the record: Andean Condor (Sp. Condor andino, Lat. Vultur gryphus). And no, I don't know if they're m/f, juvenile/adult, or nuffink - but hey, they're condors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.