Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

The Colour Purple

Luckily for me when I drove to see the purple heron which had flown into Welford Pools a couple of days ago it hadn't decided to do a flit. 

The bird hide was full of lenses, and perky bins abounded obviously. My arrival heralded it's departure as is my usual scenario so it was a waiting game which paid off in the end.

A first for me to see one of these rare birds which winter in Africa leaving our shores in October. As a rule there are only 20 records a year of purple heron migrating over here to inhabit shallow water and reedbeds.

They live about 4 years and differ from our common grey herons in that they have a longer bill, larger feet, shorter tail and are generally slimmer. 

A hunting purple heron in the Extra

ITV News have asked for the photos which is great!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.