MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Knocking On Wood

I was sitting at the computer when I heard loud knocking coming from the other end of the bungalow in the vicinity of MrQ's room. I wondered what on earth he was up to. I went to investigate. He wasn't there but the knocking was really loud, I thought coming from inside the fitted wardrobe. Nothing to be seen when I opened it. Something must be inside the wall cavity I thought. Rats crossed my mind but they don't knock.

I went outside to see if I could spot anything and as I reached the eastern end of the building I caught sight out of the corner of my eye a bird bouncing into the hedge. I looked up and saw the freshly excavated hole in the reeded cedar cladding. I think a great spotted woodpecker has decided to make itself a cosy bolt hole with us for the winter. MrQ said he liked the look of happiness on my face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.