Dakers

By Dakers

Who Am I? I played Billy Liar!

Today Pat and I attended the funeral of our dear friend Cynthia Stoane.  Cynthia and her husband John, had been invited to Pat’s recent Birthday Party.

They reluctantly declined as they were entered into a Dance Competition. However, we agreed to get together for lunch.

Unfortunately, that was not to be as Cynthia died suddenly.  Today we attended Cynthia’s funeral at Brewsterwells Crematorium; a crematorium set in the Fife countryside and with a unique approach.

I first met John when he entered into the Chemistry Laboratory in Bell Baxter High School, Cupar. He and Cynthia then moved to the village where I lived.

Gradually I became friends with John and Cynthia and I became with many village activities. John and I formed a group to Plant A Tree in 73 for the village.

Cynthia ran a Drama Group in the village which I joined. I played the lead in Billy Liar. 

Cynthia had many different groups of friends including the Dance Group. One of the dance group who I am. Hence, the reply.

The funeral service was led by a celebrant, but it was Cynthia’s son, Andrew and granddaughter Anna, who gave the tributes.

Andrew mentioned some of the drama group production including ‘Billy Liar’ and an ‘An Inspector’s Calls’.

I was the only member of the group who was able to attend.
Today’s Blipfoto is of the ‘programme’ given to attendees at the service.

John and Cynthia travelled widely though Europe and the car photos illustrate some of their journeys in the 60’s and 70’s.  The others are wedding photographs and some of their dance photographs.

We spent quite some time talking to Andrew Stoane who is an Architect and Michael Stoane who is retired.

One remarked that he had been quite envious of my cars in the 70s and the other remarked about my beautiful partner he had first met in the 80s.

If funeral services can be happy events, this one certainly was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.