A FACE ONLY A MOTHER COULD LOVE

This 'Fishing Spider' (Dolomedes Tenebrosus) looks far more frightful than he actually is. He is approximately 2 ½ inches long, although the online reference source says they are usually 3 inches (75mm) including leg span, and can be up to 4". Believe me, this guy was large enough! It is not considered to be aggressive, and in fact may bite only in defense if threatened. A brief period of pain and swelling may be the only result of a bite as their venom is not dangerous to humans. These spiders are indigenous to Michigan. (I didn't find their entire region.)

Today was busy without much time to devote to blipping, but my ever-ready Blip Assistant noticed this interesting specimen and captured him until I could get my camera! I expected the spider to quickly race away, but once released, he stayed quite still long enough for me to be able to get a head-on shot of him.

His face makes me think of a spider masquerading as a dog - a bearded dog at that! He also seems to have eyebrows, and a mustache too. I had no idea that his face was so incredible until I enlarged today's pictures. Since he was so accommodating for my photo shoot, we just let him go on his way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.