helenann

By helenann

Productive day

After rather a late start, we've had quite a productive day in the garden, having been encouraged outdoors by the inviting warm sunshine.  We weren't the only ones enjoying the sun. Two Red Admiral butterflies, busily feeding on ivy flowers, accompanied us, with this one then  obligingly posing on the Leycesteria for me. 
We put the hibernating tortoise ( in his house) in the shed for the winter, and strimmed the grass in his enclosure.  Then we dug up a Potentilla fruticosa which had grown so big it was obscuring the view of the garden from our dining room.  It is the first step in a major renovation and replanting of a raised two-level bed close to the house and much larger gravel bed beyond, which I want to carry out over the next few months. Most of the plants have grown too old/big for their setting; however, I couldn't bring myself to dig up the Potentilla until it had finished flowering! I have taken some  cuttings so perhaps,in time,I will have new plants to put in more suitable spots in the garden. 
I also managed to see our neighbours to discuss their fence which borders our garden and is only being held up by a great curtain of ivy!  Apparently,they  already had it in mind to  get the fence replaced but can't find a  contractor so I've told them of the guys who have done excellent work for us. I hope that proves a positive lead.
Then my Mum phoned me for a chat, which is a rare event. She was pleased to hear her tortoise is safely asleep. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.