KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Quite a Productive Day

And yes, a chilly one, with a chillier night ahead! 34F/1.1C and tomorrow night even colder 29F/-1.6C! 

I met a friend for lunch at our favorite nursery and cafe and we had a chance to wander around a bit. You'll see some crazy echinaceas in the extras. I might have mentioned that we have a nursery here in western Oregon called Terra Nova Nurseries that is a world renowned breeder of plants. It seems that we always have a fascinating collection of echinaceas and other species available. Surely these were bred by this nursery.

I spent some time this afternoon picking the last of the green tomatoes and taking out the plants. I have a large pile of them (see extra). Kendall suggests pickled green tomatoes, but I don't really have the equipment anymore. My mom used to make green tomato piccalilli, fond memory there. 

On the walk to the raised bed plot I ran across quite a number of these Amanita mushrooms - they were huge! This one was much bigger than my hand, although I didn't touch it since they're quite poisonous. Gorgeous aren't they?

Then I brought in all my begonias and geraniums - put them into the garage that is insulated and has a west facing window so it gets sun when we have it. I'll be interested to see how they fare over the winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.