secret garden

By freespiral

Mayhem

Just back from a mighty two days in North Cork/North Kerry full of mystery, mayhem and some wild weather. I rendezvoused with the Artist and we revisited all three wells that are to be used in the project and caught up with the wellkeepers, all of whom seem to be delighted to be taking part in the project. More tea and cake was consumed at each venue and James introduced us to the poet and writer Alan Cooke who was staying with him and over apple tart and copious cups of tea we discussed everything from collective grief, to the meaning of life, to the peaceful existence of ducks, to the healing of sacred places, and to the lack of leadership in the world.  


I stayed in a big hotel near Tralee which became more surreal the longer I was there. It was obviously hosting many Ukrainians as well as a Halloween party for adults with special needs. In the morning, many of the breakfast guests were clad in cerise coloured pyjamas (ok in fairness just the women). It turns out - a spot of eavesdropping - a bridal party was also staying  and the wedding theme was harvest, the accent colour burgundy!


Another totally mad moment occurred in a teeny cafe somewhere north of Adrfert where, desperate for a cuppa and a bowl of soup, I stopped off. Are you going to the strand? the woman inquired, looking a bit dubious - it was absolutely lashing. No, I said I’m visiting holy wells. She gasped and looked at me anew - are you Amanda Clarke! Bloody hell! It turns out she was a massive fan and even had one of my photos of a well on her screensaver. I got a free lunch and she got a free book.


Actually I did go on to the stunning Banna strand, still in the rain, then later in a soft drizzle - astonishing colours and reflections and a much needed clearing of the head


After all this, the Artist and I sat at Tubrid well for a recap before heading home. Whilst there it was astonishing to see how many people just dropped into the well and did their thing - some doing the round, some lighting candles, some carrying away huge bottles of the water. 

This project is gathering pace! 


Mystery I've got my dates the wrong way round but hey!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.