Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Blip

By alfthomas

Lost In Leith - Again

Libation

I wonder if I'm there or here,
Especially after the night before
And the enjoyment of good beer.
Although I now think never more!

The tender head is somewhat aching,
In the mirror the eyes are so red,
Soon the cure and pills I'll be taking
Before heading straight back to bed.

The countless times for this ovation
"I'll never, ever touch another drop,
Even though it might save the nation!"
And hungover onto the bed I'll flop.

But us artists are extremely weak,
And sight of liquid amber in a glass
Is sure enough to prompt a squeak,
"Go on then, pull us a pint there lass."

Thus the odd libation we cannot resist
Even though we all know the effect,
And that this habit we should desist,
But we do have reputations to protect!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.