Schoenies

By Schoenies

Dassies in the sun

These Dassies (Rock Hyraxes) were sunning themselves on the pavement when I returned home from golf. They are shy creatures, so I was pleased they didn't run away when I stopped the car. They feed mainly on plants, and stay in groups of up to ten.
I found the following interesting fact in Wikipedia
"Rock hyraxes produce large quantities of hyraceum, a sticky mass of dung and urine that has been employed as a South African folk remedy in the treatment of several medical disorders, including epilepsy and convulsions.[40] Hyraceum is now being used by perfumers, who tincture it in alcohol to yield a natural animal musk"

I played golf in windy weather (again) but it was good to be out in the open with friends. This afternoon, after doing a few chores in town, I am watching the SA/Pakistan cricket world cup. So much sport, not to mention Saturday's rugby!
Rain is predicted again tomorrow. It seems as if every Saturday is a rainy day.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.