Marionb

By Marionb

Seemed Like...

.... a Good Idea at the Time...

Lots of reminiscing today...I was going through an old desk this morning and came across these little books I had compiled years ago...clippings of ideas and helpful hints from magazines that would make me into an oh-so-clever domestic goddess!  (extra) Well, domestic goddess I am not! And I am surprised to think that I ever aspired to be one! 

I couldn't help but read through them though; they made me think..Who was I back then? and what kind of living space was I trying to create for myself? Is that still me today? 

I am now motivated to pull out all those scrapbooks I made from magazine clippings of home decorating styles I liked, you know - the perfect kitchen, bathroom, living room and garden...  and see how close I came to what I thought I wanted... 

I don't really have to look though, as I pretty much know what I wanted back then..and still do...to a certain extent...a shabby chic/French casual country cottage, vintage chalk-painted furniture, flea market finds, lots of art work, lots of colour...and a beautiful country garden..heh heh..just like in the magazines...Pretty much a fantasy.. that needed to be compromised..a LOT!   Needless to say I do not live in a magazine but am quite happy thank-you-very -much with just a dash of shabby chic...ie: white slipcovers!  

And ..oh yes, from those idea books? I did learn how to get old wax out of votive candles!  All that clipping was not in vain....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.