Outraged Sparrow

Normally, if I approached the kitchen window, any sparrow would fly away. But not this one: he was a sparrow on a mission. Here he's pausing for breath amid the prolonged scolding of a squirrel that was feeding from the birds' nuts. The noise did unnerve the rodent, but not enough to frighten him away.

Eventually, I snapped my fingers at the squirrel (after he'd had more than his fair share) and he left. Instantly, down came Robin to ask for sunflower seeds. Rather than hang around nibbling them, as he does at other times of year, he now fills his beak with as many as he can manage - usually three or four. Then he flies off, presumably, to feed his chicks. Then back comes Squirrel to hoover up the remaining seeds!

(Got some lovely shots of the squirrel, too, but as Sparrow is more elusive, I've chosen him as my blip. He's also the Rightful Eater of the Nuts - though don't tell Great tit and Blue tit I said that!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.