SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Goodbyes

Today's practical session at ESPOL with HiGHS - the first that I've ever given - went much better than I'd expected. The exercises I'd chosen were just right: not too tightly structured, allowing the participants (staff as well as students) to explore the use of HiGHS according to their interests, IT skills and experience. Everyone was given a certificate of attendance that the Dean and I had signed, and lots of photos were taken. Group photos, of course, but I was touched by how many of the students wanted to have photos taken with me. I received a small formal gift, but was more appreciative of the coffee and bars of fine chocolate given to me by X's wife, L, and one of his junior colleagues. After hugs and handshakes I left with X and two students who had come from Quito for the week. 

For lunch the four of us ate at a barbecue restaurant, notable for quality meat, a planned power cut, and being serenaded by three old guys playing guitars and singing popular songs (see extra).

X drove me to the airport, where we said goodbye. I flew to Quito, where I'll spend the next three nights. Being at 3000m in the Andes it will be quite a contrast from Guayaquil. I can already feel that it's distinctly cooler, but I don't notice the altitude much. I knew that my hotel was in the old colonial quarter of the city, but I wasn't prepared for what I saw when I opened the door of my room. For the rest of the room, and the picture on the wall, see extras. A very different "Wow!" factor compared with that of the apartment in Phoenix! I'll be sleeping in the little bed, though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.