Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Another treat from Sew N Sew

A patchwork of drink cans. I'd love to make one of my own, except that I don't tend to drink pop.

I went to a Hallowe'en party that had been re-scheduled from Saturday because of a rugby match or something. It was held in the Devonshire Arms, which was one of the first pubs bought by Charles Wells after he left the merchant navy and named for his frigate – The Devonshire
The band was Goats in Trees, or GiT as their friends know them. I can't add a link because another band with the same name comes higher up the search, so all I can tell you is that they are terrific fun – a really capable 80s cover band with a wonderful sense of humour.
Oddly, not everyone in the pub shared their sense of fun and several predatory males seemed intent on spoiling the fun of the single women present. I was flabbergasted by the sheer arrogance of them. I have obviously been incredibly lucky since ditching my chaperone in 2018 in not encountering predatory men in a social setting. Perhaps it's a feature of that particular pub, perhaps it's a feature of dressing-up parties.
I found that the perfect response to “I'm available” is “That's hardly surprising though is it”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.