D'aicí enfòra

By chaiselongue

Screen

Suddenly it's summer and we all need mosquito netting on the windows and the shutters closed while the sun is shining on them.

As well as this window, I spotted a nice mazet roof when I was out this morning.

The dreadful events in Istanbul seem to change by the hour, sometimes threats from the government, sometimes news of talks to resolve the situation, but I was shocked by this video on the Guardian website, showing the insane development and cruel evictions that have directly or indirectly led to the protests in Taksim Square and Gezi Park. Having spent my teenage years in Istanbul, I've always dreamed of going back there one day, but now I'm not sure I want to. The government reaction to the protests seems to represent the mindless use of power, by power, to protect itself from the people whom it claims gave it that power.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.