Simplicity

Back in those days, I was running pretty hard. Working the phones till they were hot and then going out and hitting the bars. Hitting them pretty hard, was the truth of it. People in my line tended to burn out - and not in a retire-to-the-mountains-and-take-it-easy way. More of a wake-up-in-a-dumpster-with-your-fingers-frozen-off kind of way. I knew this but I didn't let on to myself that I knew it. What could I do? Some folks saved themselves with religion but I knew that wasn't for me.
And then, one morning after a hard night that had lasted three days, I woke up and I just knew. I had to simplify everything. And, just like that, I set to and cleared out a whole load of shit. Shipped it off to the dump or the Goodwill. I just left a table, a plate, a knife - stuff like that. And I rang in and quit - just like that - and then gave my cell away to the first person I saw.
Since then, I've just lived simple. I do odd jobs and move around when I feel the need. And, I tell you, it saved my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.