celebration of a life well lived

Dad's funeral service today and wow, what a day.
Everyone has been wonderful, the funeral directors, celebrant and all those who came to say goodby to dad. BrodieB was an absolute star XX.

Dad's spiritual home was the Scottish Borders where, as a child, he and his family holidayed in the Yarrow Valley. Poets James Hogg (the Ettrick Shepherd) and William Wordsworth wandered through the Borders as did Border poet Roger Quinn.
These three verses are from his Midnight in Yarrow poem. The Loch and the Law were very special places for dad.

Across the Loch on Bo'urhope Law
The dawn stole down-the shadows fled;
Like some fair picture soon I saw
The glorious Vale beneath me spread.

And rising, like the rising mist
From off St Mary's placid breast,
My troubles vanish'd ere I wist,
And all within was perfect rest.


Uprose the lark to greet the morn;
The Shepherd still his vigil kept;-
A new Hope in my heart was born,-
And at the Shepherd's feet I slept.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.