Stoical

By DonMac2021

Autumn Sunshine- Autumn Blues

A splendid 30km ride today on the Clyde & Forth Canal, from the Falkirk Wheel to Auchinstarry and back.
Totally relaxing, and my cheap and cheerful (manual) hybrid bike performed very well indeed. I've left ebikes behind for now, as they seem to be too prone to faults, and too complex. The day will come when I switch back, but I'm on manual and calorie burners for now. 
I had an instance of '3 things' today, which normally could ruin a day entirely. First thing was leaving my phone on the roof of the car at the end of the ride. As I closed the boot, I heard a crunch. Ah, screen wrecked.
I had it repaired immediately at a splendid shop in Stirling which delivers wonderful, quick service. £70, ah well. Incident two was decision to visit the Cancer Research shop to look at their DVDs, where I spotted a lovely Alastair Cooke's America series which I snapped up. 
Incident two led to incident three, when I discovered a chunky and austere looking lady slapping a parking ticket on my car. '£30 if I pay sharpish?' I said. '£40', she replied. 
I was philosophical about it, and didn't give her grief, which I think was a relief for her as she moved to a Land Rover Discovery next to me.
So, a game of two halves, as they say. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.