David J. Rose

By djrose007

A non-twin blip day!

Isabella and Harriet are with us but thought I'd blip what I was up to today. Although must give them a mention. Apart from playing with their slime again they made two 8" chocolate cakes with a bit of guidance from Marlane. They topped them off with whipped cream and Halloween themed sprinkle things.
Back to me, and today saw the Poppy Appeal being launched throughout the UK and NI. I, and Lez who is pictured with me, attended the Gloucester event on behalf of the Riders Branch. Lez also had his grandchildren, who are also wearing biker leather cuts.
I rode into Gloucester as it was a lovely day during the morning but drove to TESCO Brockworth, for my evening stint on the Poppy stand, as it was absolutely tipping it down at quarter to six. We did 2.5 hours and packed in at 20:30 as it went quite dead, not a single person at the tills and very few had walked in for a while. 
As we were packing up the poppy merchandise I lifted our 'tin' and it wasn't very heavy, but that is because in addition to the cash that was in there many people had been putting in 5 and 10 pound notes so there must be quite a lot of money in total. The ladies of Brockworth RBL Club do the morning and afternoons while we give them some relief by doing the evenings. The 'Pots' are counted up by the TESCO counting machines so we are notified how much is each of the RBL and the RBL Riders pots, which is good to know. TESCO are very good as they also secure our trolley with the merchandise, admin box which includes the contactless machine. They also allow us to use their staff canteen for tea and coffee,
A good evening. I have a few shifts to do up to the 11th November and I'll be riding down to London on the 12th for the Veterans Parade past the Cenotaph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.