Look Again

By alannahseyes

Through a Stained Glass Lightly

Another quiet sun soaking day in the garden while I pay off the last few days. The faux winter we've had here has finished (yay!) and it's back to blindingly brilliant Spring.
Today's blip is a is a photobooth selfie in my favourite PJs overlaid with a fragment of stained glass.

The fragment comes from a window in the Church of St Giles at Holme Nottinghamshire. The original fifteenth century window was destroyed during the English Civil War. The current one was reconstructed in the 1930s from some of the surviving pieces. The three women are thought to be part of a donor portrait of Isabella Gernon and her daughters Isabella and Katherine Barton. The other part showing John Barton and their four sons is missing.

I’ve had some good stained glass inspirations from other Blippers recently. I thought it might be fun to put myself in the picture (again). I did like the way her headdress matched up with my headphones and it looks like we share a taste for dramatic florals. I’ve borrowed her face but included my eyebrows, as hers had been plucked close to invisibility. The lines near the face look like part of a coat of arms but remind me of my garden smilestone.

White Light/ White Heat 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.