BikerBear's Blips

By BikerBear

Flower ............

 ............... Friday27_2023  (FF27_2023).

This is what happens when you letta lettuce go to seed  -  it's over four feet high (120cms).   There is, what looks like, a tiny flower on the top!

I had a bit of a kitchen malfunction.

Setting the scene ..........Menu:  Rump steak, chips (fries), garden peas, tomatoes, peppercorn sauce.  
A five burner gas hob;  an electric deep fat fryer;  a griddle pan;  two small saucepans:  (I know that, when I start the tale, you are probably going to make an assumption but please read on).

As there is an extraction hood I always place the deep fat fryer on a pizza tray over the front left burner;  griddle pan on the right front; peas pan and peppercorn sauce pan alternating on the back right.
No room back left as the pizza tray overlaps.  This leaves the centre burner free but, as it's a wok burner (ie. large) a small pan is too small to rest on the stands.  
(I know you've already made your assumption!!!)

As I want to keep the peas AND the peppercorn sauce both hot I put a simmer ring on the centre burner (with the gas at its lowest) for the peas pan.

Everything cooked to perfection - turn off all appliances and unplug the deep fat fryer then we eat.   Yum!  It's around 19.30 hours by this time.

In the morning, when the fryer has gone cold, I go to put it away and, as I pick it up, it feels "different" .............  I look at the bottom, right hand side to find a large-ish hole and melted plastic  -  ooooops!!

I conclude that the simmer ring and the round pizza tray must have been touching, the simmer ring gets hot, transfers that heat to the pizza tray which, in turn, melts the foot and base of the fryer on the right hand side.   When I investigate the melty hole I can see electrical wiring very close ..............  could have been the end of part of my lovely newish kitchen - or even the end of the house and us!!!!!

(I'm pretty sure that a few of you thought I had turned on the gas under the deep fat fryer - yes??)

Note to self:  Don't be so stupid next time - think it through!!!!!!!!!!   :o))

~ Anni ~


This is Friday uploaded early on Sunday morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.