Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

A Walk Among the Shadows

A perfect night for this hauntingly historical walk in the Eastern Cemetery in Portland.  Mild temperatures and a gorgeous full Hunter's Moon illuminated the stones as we listened to 7 spirits talk about the great fire of 1866 which destroyed Portland.  My ancestor's, Captain Nathanial Dyer, home, built in 1803 of brick, was not destroyed.  It was one of the few brick houses in the city at the time.  2,000 wooden structures burned to the ground.  Our walk took us right by his daughter's and granddaughters' stones so I stopped to say hello. His was further away so I just waved.  Gift#300: ancestral ties.  (I added my rather poor "moon shot" in the extras but it does show the planet Venus as well.)  Some may be interested in this short video about the cemetery with some of the actors from previous events.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.