Knottman2

By Knottman2

Slime Molds

I have been looking out for these for some time. It is some years since I blipped a yellow variety which has the common name of Dog’s Breakfast.
Some of my Blip friends have found and blipped several different ones. I read there are over 260 varieties in the U.K.

They are very strange and there as much discussion over the years about how to classify them. I think they have been taken out of Fungi and given a class of their own.

One remarkable feature is that when they have used up thefood supply of an area they are able to move slowly over the surface to another. And they can move to a place suitable for releasing spores.
In labs they have been shown to have primitive brains which can lay out the most effective routes for a network.

If you would like to know more there are interesting short videos on YouTube.

My extra shows some fungi. NotTurkey Tails I think but I have not yet had time to look for an id.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.