Cross training

Ian will be pleased to know that I've finally had the bike out today. He gave me his bike last year (he got a fancy one) so I could cycle to the Gyle for work. I stopped cycling during peak marathon training as it was such big distances and was tiring me out. Since moving jobs, back into the city, I didn't feel like I needed the bike.

You may recall a couple of weeks ago that I decided I should be cross-training. To that end I went to a spinning class and was outraged at the cost. I decided that I should just get my bike out. Today I did just that. I cycled the 1.5 miles to work this morning, then tonight took a rather circuitous route home! I went past the Botanics, down to Newhaven, along the shore to Portobello and then home. It was an 8.5 mile route home. So 10 miles in total today - not bad!

This is a view of Leith Newhaven Harbour on my journey home. One thing I did realise today was that I don't in fact hate cycling as I thought I did! It's very different cycling to get to/from work and cycling for cycling's sake. This was much nicer than the commute I used to do...perhaps the views helped!

Exercise: 10 mile cycle

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.