winchwench

By winchwench

Ponies!

It was my annual day out on the moors - just me and a camera - seeking out the wild ponies. Sunday perhaps wasn't the best of days as there were quite a lot of people around, but it was forecast to be halfway decent weather wise.
Having failed to find any ponies in one of my usual spots (and in in need of a loo!!!), I dropped in to the nearby Exmoor Pony Centre. This is a charity run by the Moorland Mousie Trust, dedicated to caring for ponies who, for one reason or another, can't be out on the moors. Some ponies were corralled in the crew yard, happily munching on hay, giving me the opportunity for some close up encounters and even a little cuddle :-). Most of these "rescues" have to have very restricted diets due to health issues and so 24/7 fresh grass would be disastrous for them. It was good to hear that Oscar's adopted pony is doing very well and is now off any medication.
Sadly, for me at least, Oscar shows no real interest in equines but I guess that saves me an absolute fortune in the future!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.