Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Skeleton staff?

The temps in charge of the ménage by the harbour (us!) have worked their first school day. The main feature of the day was the necessity to be up the same time as the girls to get them off to school by 7.50am. Why do they need to be so early? All I can say is that mercifully my body thought it was 8.50 in old money… and happily I’m considered too inept to drive to the school with the granddaughters and the girl next door, so I waved them off with Himself and went back inside to get breakfast ready.

We were out only briefly in the morning - bought fish from Welch’s on Newhaven Harbour and failed to find anywhere serving coffee so came back here for some. I did some Italian and we had some lunch. Before going to the school for the pick-up, we called in on #1 son to return the casserole and pie dish from our last visit there. That’s where I was struck by the bony chap hanging from a tree that appears as my blip - the whole place was a feat of ingenuity.

Then it was on to pick up girls, trombone, bassoon, bags … all piled into the car from
two different locations and deposited back at the house. My hardest hour or so was making dinner with pots that didn’t quite fit my needs and no fish slice that I could find anywhere…

Enough to say that I’ve lost the knack of cooking for four, I find the gas hob endlessly challenging, I felt I’d overcooked the vegetables but the girls pronounced it fine and scoffed the lot.

Now I’m off to bed to do it all again in the morning. There is a page of instructions for the evening from Anna; I know there’s a band to take Catriona to in another part of town. And I’ve arranged lunch with Lady Findhorn, blipper extraordinaire…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.