Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Autumn Glory

I took a chance on the weather, and on not having booked a parking space, to head for Winkworth Arboretum. There was no problem with parking and apart from a cloud burst as I arrived and a couple of drizzly showers throughout the day (easily avoided under trees) I had a great day.

The arboretum isn't normally the first place I head to for fungi, but today they were everywhere. I could have spent most of the day barely moving from one spot!  However I did manage to cover most of the arboretum as I roamed, and was rewarded for my effort by glorious Autumn colours with wonderful reflections over the lake (extra).

The trees were particularly colourful around The Bowl (across the lake, in the centre of the extra). There large clumps of fungi were growing around tree trunks and stumps. I particularly like this main shot with a red acer in the background.

It was a good day out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.