PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

November already!

And a sunnier start to the new month than I expected! Was thrilled to see this visitor to our main feeding station: a female Great Spotted Woodpecker (Dendrocopos major). It's only the second time I've seen one in our garden. This was the third interesting arrival in the past 24 hours - earlier this morning, a squirrel and, last night, a hedgehog. Like this woodpecker, the squirrel was attracted by the nuts; the hedgehog by remnants of dried calciworms that the birds must have missed.

I spent this afternoon babysitting the young master who had lots of conversation, even if most of it was unrecognisable as words. He did say Granny several times, though, to my delight! And judging by his responses clearly understood what Granny was saying to him, including my inviting him to feed me, which he did, with a big grin! He laughed when I pulled funny faces at him.

When little Miss B came home, she wanted to bake some cakes with Granny, so we did. I feel so lucky to have so much contact with my darling grandchildren. It was most definitely worth the move from Devon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.