Pictorial blethers

By blethers

On the move ...

I'm back at my desktop, so blipping is less laborious than on my phone (why do I never think of dictating it?) but I'm not in bed (so not either warm or cosy) and I am thinking longingly of same ...

The usual early schoolday start, driven on by the knowledge that Anna hadn't made her packed lunch last night as she was too tired after the guising - I didn't have my tea in bed, but instead wandered about, mug in hand, chivvying gently. Actually there was no need - the first extra shows both girls in the early morning kitchen, getting breakfast/making a sandwich - and we were able to see them off into the neighbour's car, this being his turn for the school run. We had our breakfast and then headed up to town on the bus, in a snell wind and driving rain, to collect my lovely jacket which has been so expertly altered (ie let out slightly) by the tailor in Thistle Street that I love it even more. Back to the house for dry clothes and coffee, then an hour or so of packing cases and finding things stashed in different rooms ...By the time we had finished and eaten some toasted cheese and set the oven glove alight with the grill (really!) we had word that Ewan and Morgane had landed in Edinburgh, so we scampered to get most of our stuff out to the car before they filled the house with their cases.

About an hour later we left, noting that the rain had more or less passed on, leaving us dry as we drove out of Edinburgh. It didn't last. By the time we were joining the M73 to go round the south of Glasgow we could barely see the road, let alone the road signs, slowing down and speeding up the windscreen wipers as the rain washed over us with quite terrifying intensity. We joined a huge queue of traffic at the junction with the M8, and gradually the rain abated, so that by the time we were free of the Erskine Bridge traffic we could see gaps in the cloud - that's my main blip: it was a ridiculously welcome sight - and though the sea was still a tad rough I was able to do Italian on my phone as we crossed. 

My second extra was taken half an hour ago as I was locking up - an amazing moon in a clear sky, and, I think, part of Orion in the lower right quadrant. The house hasn't fully warmed up yet, but should be fine tomorrow. But will I be fine for the early shop...?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.