tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Treasure trove!

It was fine between the showers  downpours.
I had a notion to check out a spot where I'd  once found a rather weathered feathered fungus. 

Bingo! and this time the timing was spot on. TWO enormous maitake  (Hen of the Woods/Grifola frondosa)  nesting broodily growing as per usual at the base of an oak tree. 9kg of THE most desirable mushroom meat ever. The 'net is awash with advice and instructions about how to find, process, cook and preserve this particular bounty.
.
I will be sharing  as much as possible  but it freezes and dries well so that's my work cut out for the next few days. We had some  for supper, stir-fried with garlic and tamari.

Many thanks for all the warm responses to the granddaughter delivery in  my last blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.