Look Again

By alannahseyes

Unvarnished

Journal 101
A very BIG THANK YOU (yes I am shouting) to everyone for the kind comments, hearts & stars for yesterday. It felt like a birthday party (did I have too much red cordial?) .

I'm in far enough to begin to appreciate now that Blipspace is really a Library of Journals, not just a random collection of snaps and "best pictures". I love the many different and inventive ways people have chosen to express themselves or simply share their journeys.

When I started blipping I thought I was just documenting (re)learning a technical skill. Then I started to adding songs to add another layer. Then I started to remember stuff.

Then I realised what I was really doing was making a journal of my re-engagement with art practice (that was incredibly hard to write) This is a virtual version of my old artist's notebooks.

Today's Blip is about process, falling off the bike and getting back on again. 
Long ago when I was learning to paint one of the big questions among the students was "Is it finished yet?" One of our teachers (a recovering Abstract Expressionist) nailed it with "You only know you were finished when you add one layer too many. You only know what you have when it's been lost". Another one more pragmatically pointed out that there many possible points of completion. If you pass one, move on to the next point or scrape it back and start again.
Today I was playing with layers again. I started with my eyes. Multiple versions of "I wonder what happens if I add/blend/do this... I ended up with something I was going to title Stop it or you'll go blind! I put that one in extras and scraped the picture back. 


(Why do I use so many parentheses? I think I think with footnotes.)
Which version? TV Eye or TV eYe or tv eye ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.