Guernsey Ka

By KarenBourgaize

What a night and early morning!

Thank you all for your lovely thoughts, for our weather. I pretty well slept as normal like a log, when I got up around 5am to walk across the landing I could hear the wind , but snuggled back down until 6:30am when the alarm went off - so we got up and investigated the windows, although it was windy it looked ok. Later hubby found one garden fence panel had fallen, but that seems to be it, and hubby had managed to save a neighbours fig tree by strapping it up. Some islanders have really suffered, more than 70 trees down! but others are ok. Our children have a little bit of roof damage, but so far that seems to be it. I think there is more serious wind to come. I rang around to some friends to check on them. In between I was making soup, that was it. I put in homemade chicken stock, and lots of veg, parsnip, sweet potato, Brussels, green cabbage, carrots, mushrooms, sweetcorn, and some mixed frozen veg and a bit of gammon that I had. So with homemade bread that’s set to be our tea tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.