Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

St Mary's Episcopal Cathedral, Glasgow

I had sad reason to come here today, the first time I have been inside the building.

The second funeral I have attended this week, this shot was taken quickly on my compact. I know it isn't a good photograph, however I wanted to record something of the grandeur of this beautiful place, but had no wish to be disrespectful.

We gathered to say farewell and give thanks for a lady who has been influential on many musicians throughout the UK. The order of service included the four part music for all the hymns, plus the Kyrie, Sanctus and Benedictus, and the Agnus Dei. The singing and organ playing was inspiring.

I found the whole event very moving, particularly when we went forward to take communion, with a solo baritone singing "The Call", one of the Five Mystical Songs by Vaughan Williams.

I left with a heavy heart, she was taken from us too soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.