Out and About

By Puffin

Bowes Museum

I'd planned to take A to this museum weeks ago. She phoned to check our plans would not be impacted by  Storm Ciarán.  Its in the South,  I assured her and I was right. We had an easy drive over the Pennines from Cumbria to County Durham with very little wind and only a bit of rain but then it is 2 November.  My thoughts for friends in the South including my brother who has just moved to North Devon. 
Anyway I had been attracted by the Vivienne Westwood exhibition which was interesting but small, ( some items in extras). I've not been inside the museum before and was very impressed by the local content and the educational information. We'll be going back when their famous Silver Swan has been restored. 
The Blip is a rare loom used in a mill in Barnard Castle and similar to those found in Victorian factories . If you look carefully you can see the hundreds of punch cards laced together . Each row creates a row of pattern enabling the weaver to create very complicated patterns .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.