SonofLionel

By SonofLionel

Unexpected Visitors

As we arrived back from shopping, the farmer opposite our place was parked in the road looking up.  He saw us and gesticulated for us to see what he had spotted. He had heard a strange bird call and there they were!
Two budgies - in our tree!
I assumed that they had escaped from someone’s aviary, but he told me that there are many wild budgies in the North of France.
There were no signs of rings on their legs.  They also (once I had managed to snap them) seemed to be a little older that I thought. They were just a bit damp and sleepy. I think the storms in the North may have pushed some birds a little further South than expected. I put my camera away, tasked by Mrs SoL to get some seed for them, but they had gone.  Only, however, for me to spot two long tailed tits flitting around the same tree. Again, a very rare sight. Sadly, my camera was inside and had been replaced by the seed cup.  Oh well. 
Interesting to see what the wind brings us next (other than the fallen branches off the trees in the garden!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.