EEPaul

By EEPaul

Big Half

Walked over Tower Bridge to the start of the Big Half. 

it was 22C when my wave started at 9am and was climbing towards 25C by the time I finished. Started behind a 1:50 pacer and was comfortable for the first quarter of the event around Canary Wharf, but by half distance (heading back towards Tower Bridge), I was starting to struggle despite drinking water at every opportunity (plus gels at 1/3 and 2/3 distance). I walked a bit to cool down (initially just 30s to reset, but later for a minute or two), then just concentrated on getting round. Finished in 2:04:43.

Looking at the official results and the split times, I clearly went off too quickly (10k in 54:29) and paid for it big time in the third 5k. This was run/walked at a grovelling 06:32/km pace. I then picked up the pace a little after that, but - conscious of the heat - I didn't want to be falling down at the roadside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.