curns' corner

By curns

After the storm

It’s was quite nice to get down here last night. This morning I decided to go for my morning walk and ended up with a view of a beach hut and the sea. On land, there are some big puddles remaining from the storm - and more rain arrived during the day - but the water levels in the brook are lower. It’s nice to be here. On a work call today, Gerry spotted my background had changed so asked if I was here. As always, it’s quite relaxing to start the day looking at the sea but I did find myself putting the heating on for half and hour to take the chill off the room in the mid-morning. It’s possibly more to do with my lack of movement when sat at an office desk, but nice to check it all works.

After breakfast, PY went off to meet Christine and David and was with them until about 3pm. They went off to Quarr Abbey and then wandered the shops in Ryde. They made the plans for the evening: to Monkton Arts Centre to see The Lost Years Trio. It was a bring your own event so we had wine and nibbled for our dinner. The venue was full and the trio were excellent - and played a nice long set. We brought a bottle but also purchased a bottle from the bar. It was a nice community atmosphere and I think we’ll be going again. We came back via Christine’s hotel for tea and toast before bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.