Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Another sunset

I'm sorry - it's getting tedious, I know, but I can't resist photographing the sunsets at this time of year; perhaps because Dunoon actually faces East and we have to go down south to catch them. And if we don't actually plan a walk earlier on in the day, and end up going out just because we sit around at computers or piano and grow cold and stiff if we stay in all day ... you get the picture? (Even if it looks like the same picture!)

My day actually felt a tad aimless; I got up late because I was reading blips and rejoicing dopily because my tooth was less painful than it was last night (I drugged myself liberally with ibuprofen, which never goes well with leaping eagerly from bed anyway). I didn't even do my Italian, which meant sitting over the ruins of breakfast doing it when I should've been clearing up. Then I rang Di, catching up after a week, and then made coffee. I had thoughts that I really ought to write something, but when I began the poem died on the page and I realised I'll need to read some poetry to get me started again - though I did find one that I started years ago after our Orient Express journey, when we suddenly realised we were passing through the battlefields of the Somme, where we had visited with a group some years earlier ... I think I'll resurrect it and see how it looks. But not tonight.

We went out as soon as we could scrape ourselves together after eating quite a chunk of the most delicious Pecorino cheese with strips of truffle through it, one of the delights I bought after lunch with Lady Findhorn in Valvona & Crolla on Tuesday. We had it with a few olives and a chunk of olive-dotted sourdough and thought of Italian sunshine, and then the sun appeared here and called to us. As you can see from the photo, darkness was falling by the time we got back to the car and I turned round for a last look at the sky and found it ablaze. 

An interesting feature of the walk had been trying to carry on a text conversation on Twitter with a cousin whose exact relationship to me I haven't yet succeeded in working out: his grandfather was my grandfather's brother. The question arose because my younger son was at an educational event in Dubai last week and met this cousin's daughter there: what relation are they to one another? Is anyone out there any good at this sort of thing? Anyway, it drove me back to my boxes of old photos when I got home, trying to find one of the grandfathers together - so far I've not managed, but there are more.

And that's how days pass, really. I watched the last, gripping episode of Das Boot and fell asleep during the news. My tooth still hurts, but it's no worse than it was last night. Touch wood!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.