David J. Rose

By djrose007

Amazing what you find!

Rummaging around in boxes I came across some things I haven't seen for years. One of them was this bag. It has a netted area, inside, and it took me a while to remember what it contained.
I remembered it was a headset for use with my IP desk phone. I was going out to our agencies and product distributors, all over EMEA, to talk to them about our new IP products and private networks that companies could have using our Enterprise Meridian equipment. This was before the days of SKYPE, who incidentally used our Meridian equipment to provide the free IP telephony service that they provided.
For the customers of our distributors it cost a small fortune but they had end to end security and many features that could be run on it including ACD (Automatic Call Distribution - those annoying call centres that call you constantly!). It was, of course, for a much better purpose e.g. company call centres for customer service, emergency services etc.
Anyway, you might have guessed that this is an emergency blip for the 4 November but posting on the 5th November.
This afternoon I'm off to Cheltenham Racecourse, not gee-gee's involved, it's their firework display. I will see the fireworks but my purpose in going is to wander around with a poppy box and a contactless machine to raise more money for the RBL Poppy Appeal. 
I'll be there from 4pm until 7 or 8pm so will be wearing thermal leggings and my bike jacket and cut!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.