Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Poetry in the Park

First Sunday of the month.

Surrounded by that late autumn feeling when the leaves are hanging on to their terracotta beauty.

Clear blue sky with wispy clouds. In the company of Bray poets, listeners and chatterers.  I am feeling very happy.

I will print out my poem below entitled ‘A Stretch of Ground’.  Extra is a view down the  boulevard of trees where young families out enjoying the bright day after a week of straight rain.

Last September I won a half bottle of wine on the tombola at a garden fete.  It’s called Crozes Hermitage.  I will have a glass just as soon as my lasagne is heated up in the oven.  With a dressed green salad.  (This will make you chuckle)..  

https://youtu.be/HmsBEZ47FT8?si=CDs_hMCjvmVPPTY6

I will be watching Kevin Kline as ‘Dave’ on RTE 1 at 3.40

The weather is beautiful here in North Wicklow.  I hope you are all enjoying your Sunday as much as I am.  (Remember it’s important to get out in nature when you can).  See extra



A STRETCH OF GROUND 
  
Borders, Boundaries, Blockades, 
Battles, Bloodshed 
The History of the World in alliteration 
 
The need to control 
A Stretch of Ground 
With Bomb and Bullet. 
Historical settlements 
Torn apart 
From a rich heritage. 
Back to B.C. Before Christ 
The Philistines, Romans, Mongols, Ottomans 
A Cultural Melting Pot 
Of Different Peoples; 
But how different ! 
All needing a place to rest 
To learn, to reproduce, to live. 
To go to the Market 
To sweep the dust from the Kitchen. 
 
The simple nuances are never enough 
To ensure our peace. 
 
The Stamp of Ownership 
Guarantees the defined border 
Of a Desired Homeland. 


Jean McDonald 
Poetry in the Park, 05/11/2023 




















.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.