Diarised

By Diarised

Royal Flush

I am really enjoying this series of books by Rhys Bowen.  I am only about 4 books in of 17 so I have lots more to look forward to.

We had partial success on our pharmacy foraging.  We found a pharmacy in the next village along that has the drops (in a bottle not separate phials) so if we can persuade the Dr to write a script for that and not the phials, which seem to be impossible to get anywhere these days, we may be in business.   We will see what we can sort it all on Monday.  

Apart from that I had a lazy day at home. I was whacked and think it was all the madness of playing catch-up at work that took its toll.

Leo had his football team social. I was worried about that as he is playing for a men’s team and there seemed to be lots of talk of initiations and forfeits and drinking games. Leo turned 16 not that long ago so I don’t really think they should have been pushing alcohol on him and the other youngsters.  And the Footie Club bar shouldn’t have been serving them alcohol either!

Thankfully, he is fairly sensible so he opted to pay a forfeit rather than do his initiation which seems to be downing some weird combo of drinks. He also did well and avoided any of the drinking game penalties without having to drink up or pay up.  I refunded him all his penalty money money for being sensible, even though I would rather have given the coach a piece of my mind. 

His mates didn’t fare too well and from his pics and videos they seemed to spend most of the night with their heads in buckets looking very sorry for themselves.  At least Leo could help walk/drag them home afterwards and hand them over to their parents to sort them out.  I was so relieved when Leo bounced in with his tales looking none the worse for wear having drunk just a bit of cider.

I think for next year I shall schedule something else when that social is on so we don’t have the stress all over again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.