Robin at large

By Robin

A Trip to Aboyne

I was fully recovered from my vaccinations this morning, and had slept well overnight.

We decided to go somewhere a bit further afield today for a change. We got as far as Aboyne, about 30 miles west of Aberdeen. The rain had finally stopped, though I did stick to main roads in case of floods.

Along the road we saw some spectacular autumn colours, especially as we were leaving Banchory. I could not get a picture as I was driving. I did take a photograph of these trees in Aboyne as we were walking to lunch.

On arriving in Aboyne we had a coffee and then walked to the Boat Inn for lunch. We had a very pleasant meal. In all the time I have lived in Aberdeen this was the first time I have been to the Boat inn. I did attempt to go there once many years ago, but it was fully booked. It was busy today also, but we arrived quite early.

Just above the picture rail there is a single track model railway layout going around the restaurant. Every now and again a train passes, much to the delight of the children, and to my delight also. A picture of the train as it passed out table in the extra.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.